Publishing News [Global]

The winners of 2017 IPG Independent Publishing Awards are: Fox Williams Independent Publisher of the Year - Edward Elgar Publishing; Frankfurt Book Fair Trade Publisher of the Year - Faber & Faber; Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year - Nosy Crow; ProQuest Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year - Edward Elgar Publishing; Publishers Licensing Society Education Publisher of the Year - Maths – No Problem!; IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year – SPCK; Nick Robinson Newcomer Award - Hoxton Mini Press; The Bookseller International Achievement Award - Pavilion Books; Ingram Content Group Digital Publishing Award - Bloomsbury Publishing; Nielsen Digital Marketing Award - How2Become; Alison Morrison Diversity Award – Oneworld; Ruth Killick Publicity Young Independent Publisher of the Year - Joshua Brown, How2Become; and GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award – Bibliocloud.

The winners were chosen from shortlists featuring 41 nominations from 29 different companies and three individuals.

On April 1, 2018, Caroline Birkle will assume full responsibility for Thieme Chemistry as managing director. Under her direction Thieme Chemistry will continue to expand its publishing program that provides chemists in research, science and industry with highly evaluated specialist information on synthetic, organic and general chemistry.

Thieme Chemistry is part of the Thieme Publishing Group and offers highly evaluated information about synthetic and general chemistry for professional chemists and advanced students since 1909.

Philip Hoffman will be the new chairman of Penguin Random house. He will succeed John Makinson, who had been CEO of the Penguin Group prior to its merger with Random House.

One of the industry’s leading event Frankfurt Book Fair 2016 was successfully held from October 18-23, 2016. Some of the major highlights of the fair included:

The first trade fair for digital cultural content, THE ARTS+, took place for the first time at the Frankfurter Buchmesse. The premiere comprised five days of a “fair within a fair” as well as an international conference featuring many prominent personalities. In its first year itself, the cooperation between the Frankfurter Buchmesse and media entrepreneur Christiane zu Salm managed to attract 51 exhibitors and partners. These included well-known names such as the Google Cultural Institute, TASCHEN Verlag, SKY ARTS, the van Gogh Museum, Kodak PixPro, Steinway and Europeana. Diverse young entrepreneurs, such as Refrakt from Berlin and Culture Tech of Montreal, also used the specially designed area to present their ideas for digital business with creative content.

After a successful first event last year, this year’s second outing for the conference “THE MARKETS - Global Publishing Summit” once again provided a resounding start for the Frankfurter Buchmesse. Besides, Flanders and the Netherlands, Guest of Honour of the Frankfurter Buchmesse 2016, handed over the ‘GuestScroll’ to the 2017 Guest of Honour, France. Frankfurt Book Fair 2017 will be held from October 11-15, 2017.

Effective January 1, 2017, Thieme will acquire Stuttgart-based publishing house Schattauer Verlag. Schattauer’s owner and CEO Dieter Bergemann will retire from the business at age 79. Established in 1949 by Friedrich Karl Schattauer as an academic publisher for medicine and science, Schattauer’s nationally and internationally well-established portfolio today includes 21 journals and 1,200 print and digital books.